Who We Are

Honors Core Faculty and Staff

Dr. Patrice McMahon

Dr. Patrice McMahon

Director, Honors Program
Professor, Political Science
Dean's Professor of Teaching and Learning, College of Arts & Sciences

213 Knoll Residence Center
pmcmahon2@unl.edu

Dr. Tamy Burnett

Dr. Tamy Burnett

Associate Director
Courtesy Faculty, English
Campus Associate, Women's & Gender Studies

213 Knoll Residence Center
(402) 472-2456
tburnett2@unl.edu

Rebecca Baskerville

Rebecca Baskerville

Associate Director

213 Knoll Residence Center
rlbaskerville@unl.edu

Jacob Schlange

Jacob Schlange

Assistant Director

213 Knoll Residence Center
(402) 472-8221
jschlange3@unl.edu

Amelia-Marie Altstadt

Amelia-Marie Altstadt

Coordinator

213 Knoll Residence Center
(402) 472-6419
aaltstadt2@unl.edu

Affiliated Faculty and Staff

Olatz Sanchez-Txabarri

Olatz Sanchez-Txabarri

Center for Transformative Teaching (CTT) Honors Associate
Department of Modern Languages and Literature
Ph.D. student researching literature by migrant women.

Maria Benes

Maria Benes

Center for Transformative Teaching (CTT) Honors Associate

Dr. Jordan Soliz

Dr. Jordan Soliz

Faculty Lead, Honors Civic Leaders Track
Professor and Leland J. & Dorothy H. Olson Chair in Arts and Sciences, Intergroup & Family Communication

 

Dr. L.J. McElravy

Dr. L.J. McElravy

Faculty Lead, Honors Civic Leaders Track
Associate Professor, Agricultural Leadership, Education & Communication

 

Dr. Shannon Bartelt-Hunt, PE

Dr. Shannon Bartelt-Hunt

Faculty Lead, Honors Environmental Stewards Track
Professor and Chair, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

 

Dr. Valerie Jones

Dr. Valerie Jones

Honors Faculty Fellow, College of Journalism and Mass Communications
Associate Professor, Advertising & Public Relations

Dr. Christine Haney Douglass

Christine Haney Douglass

Honors Liaison, College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources
Experiential Learning Coordinator, College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources

chaney3@unl.edu

Grace Troupe

Grace Troupe

Instructional Designer
Center for Transformative Teaching

 

Courtney Santos

Courtney Santos

Director
National and International Fellowships

Specialty: Nationally competitive fellowships and awards, such as the Fulbright, Goldwater, National Science Foundation, and Truman scholarships.

courtney.santos@unl.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Patrice Berger

Dr. Patrice Berger

Emeritus Director, University Honors Program

Emeritus Professor, Department of History

pberger1@unl.edu

Dr. Madhavan Soundararajan

Dr. Madhavan Soundararajan

Emeritus Assistant Director, Honors Program
Emeritus Professor of Practice, Biochemistry

msoundararajan1@unl.edu

Dr. Laura Damuth

Dr. Laura Damuth

Emeritus Director, National and International Fellowships