Honors Advisory Council


The Honors Advisory Council, composed of UNL faculty and staff, provides strategic counsel to the director on the University Honors Program’s development and role on campus. Council members may be asked to:

  • provide general advice on curriculum and programmatic development;
  • assist the director with identifying experiential learning opportunities;
  • offer guidance and ideas for strategic opportunities and synergies;
  • attend events with students and/or community partners;
  • conduct outreach in their respective departments/schools/colleges about the University Honors Program’s value at UNL; and
  • help identify and/or facilitate curricular and programmatic opportunities for Honors students in their home departments/schools/colleges.


Terms of Service:

  • members will serve for two academic years (August – May) and may be invited to return for an additional term(s).
  • members serve in an advisory capacity only; there are no fiduciary or governance responsibilities.


Frequency of Meetings:

  • the Council will have two to three meetings per semester, depending on the need, as determined by the director, with some opportunities/requests for social events.

Honors Advisory Council Members

Dr. Sohrab Asgarpoor

Associate Dean, College of Engineering
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering


Dr. Laurie Bellows

Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs
Professor of Practice, Educational Psychology


Julie Bray-Obermeyer, MS

Director of Career Development & Corporate Relations, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources


Erin Burnette, M.Ed

Director, Nebraska Business Honors Academy, College of Business


Dr. Kathy Castle

Associate Professor of Practice, Communication Studies
Assistant Department Chair & Director of Undergraduate Education


Dr. Stephen Cooper

Director, Jeffrey S. Raikes School of Computer Science and Management
Chancellor’s Professorship, Jeffrey S. Raikes School of Computer Science and Management
Associate Professor, Computer Science and Engineering


Lorna Dawes, MILS

Associate Professor, University Libraries


Robert Derr, MFA

Professor, School of Art, Art History, & Design


Dr. Sarah Gervais

Courtesy Faculty Fellow, Public Policy Center
Professor, Psychology
Susan Rosowski Professorship, Psychology


Dr. Amy Goodburn

Senior. Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean Undergraduate Education, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor
Professor, English


AnnMarie Gottner

Director of Advising, College of Education & Human Sciences


Dr. June Griffin

Associate Dean-Undergraduate Education, College of Arts & Sciences
Professor of Practice, English


Dr. Christine Haney

Honors Faculty Fellow & Lecturer, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources


Prof. Patti Harney

Honors Faculty Fellow, College of Journalism and Mass Communication
Assistant Professor of Practice, Advertising


Colleen Medill, JD

Berkshire Family Professorship, College of Law


Dr. Nick Monk

Director, Center for Transformative Teaching


Jennifer Mostek, JD, MA

Associate Director, Business Advising & Student Engagement, College of Business


Dr. Sophia Perdikaris

Chairperson & Professor, Anthropology


Anna Pressler, MA

Director of Operations & Marketing, Jeffrey S. Raikes School of Computer Science and Management


Dr. Mary Kay Quinlan

Associate Dean, College of Journalism & Mass Communications
Associate Professor, Journalism


Dr. Petronela Radu

Professor, Mathematics
Leland J. and Dorothy H. Olson Professorship, Mathematics


Dr. Patricia Sollars

Director of Undergraduate Education, Undergraduate Education Programs
Associate Professor, School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences


Dr. Madhavan Soundararajan

Professor of Practice, Biochemistry
Assistant Director, Honors Program


Lori Straatmann, MA

Director of Enrollment Operations, College of Engineering


Dr. Kara Viesca

Associate Professor, Teaching, Learning, & Teacher Education


Bill Watts, MA

Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education & Student Success


Sandra Williams, MFA

Associate Professor, School of Art, Art History, & Design


Catherine Wilson, JD

Associate Professor, College of Law